Skip to main content Skip to search Skip to search results

Amherst, (Mass.)


Historical note

Amherst is a town in Hampshire County, Massachusetts, in the Connecticut River valley. The town is home to Amherst College, Hampshire College, and the University of Massachusetts Amherst, three of the Five Colleges. The name of the town is pronounced without the h ("AM-erst"), giving rise to the local saying, "only the 'h' is silent", in reference both to the pronunciation and to the town's politically active populace.